Pre-Disaster Mitigation Grant Program (PDMGP)

What is PDM?

The Pre-Disaster Mitigation (PDM) program makes available Federal funds to State, Local and Tribal Governments to implement and sustain cost-effective measures designed to reduce the risk to individuals and property from natural hazards, while also reducing reliance on Federal funding from future disasters.

Current PDM Local Jurisdiction Information

  • Eligibility Details

NM DHSEM is the only eligible entity eligible to apply to FEMA for EMPG funds.  Funds are then distributed to tribal, county, and city agencies across the state through a pass-through application process.

Local governments, including cities, townships, counties, special district governments, and Native American tribal organizations are considered sub-applicants and must submit sub-applications for mitigation planning and projects to their State/Territory applicant agency. Contact information for the State Hazard Mitigation Officers (SHMOs). See FY20 EMPG NOFO, page(s) 37 for addition information.

  • PDM Timeline
  • Definitions
    • Recipient: A non-Federal entity that receives a Federal award3directly from a Federal awarding agency to carry out an activity under a Federal
    • Applicant: A non-Federal entity submitting an application to the Recipient for assistance under the Recipient’s Federal
    • Pass-through entity: A non-Federal entity that provides a sub-award to an Applicant to carry out part of a Federal
    • Sub-recipient: An Applicant that receives a sub-award from a pass-through entity to carry out part of a Federal program.