# **State Emergency Response Commission Meeting Minutes**

Date: December 5, 2023

Time: 12:00 PM - 1:30 PM

Location: Sandoval County Fire Department, 301 Piedra Lisa St, Bernalillo, NM 87004

#### 1. Roll Call – Introductions

Name	Organization	Membership	Virtual/In Person
William Hageman	LANL	нмѕв	In Person
Jeff Wenzel	RRFR	HMSB, Legislative/Policy/Bylaws Standing Committee	In Person
Scott Overpeck	NWS	Commissioner	In Person
Zach Wachter	NMDHSEM	LEPC Standing Committee	In Person
Cynthia Holmes	NMDHSEM		In Person
Jess Lewis	UNMH	Commissioner, HMSB, Legislative/Policy/Bylaws Standing Committee	In Person
Dan Heerding	SCOEM		In Person
Ryan Slota	SCOEM		In Person
Karen Sanders	Roswell/Chaves County EM	Commissioner	Virtual
Lorenzo Aguirre	NMDPS		Virtual
Adele McKenzie	NMED – DRB		Virtual
Ron Fitzherbert	Amador Health Center	Commissioner	Virtual
Krista Schultz	NMED - DRB		Virtual
Jackie Onsurez	WIPP	Commissioner	Virtual
Jos Lesscher	FFD	Commissioner - Chair	In Person
Jason Bowie	NMDPS	Commissioner	Absent

# 2. Approval of Minutes

Motion by Jess Lewis to approve, second by Jos Lesscher. Motion carried.

#### 3. Background of New Mexico Hazardous Materials initiatives.

Zach Wachter gave a briefing on the SERC background and current state of New Mexico's hazardous materials programs.

# 4. America's Water Infrastructure Act

Discussion about how to bring New Mexico into compliance with the America's Water Infrastructure Act.

Jos Lesscher moves to table to next meeting to allow time to draft a policy – Scott Overpeck Second – motion carried.

#### 5. Hazardous Materials Safety Board

Discussion of commission standing committees. Motion by Jess Lewis to appoint Jeff Wenzel and Bill Hageman to the HMSB. Seconded by Jos Lesscher. Motion carries. Bill Hageman designated as Chair of the HMSB.

#### 6. Commission Bylaws

Discussion of SERC bylaws. Jess Lewis moved to adopt bylaws with the omission of section 3 article 7 of the bylaws that allows for proxy voting. Jos Lesscher seconded. Motion carried.

# 7. Annual SERC Report

Preparedness Bureau Chief Cynthia Holmes provided a report on the last SERC Report. SERC reporting period changed to calendar year from fiscal year.

Zach Wachter discussed the SERCs duty to report to the Radiological and Hazardous Materials Committee of the state legislature as requested.

Scott Overpeck moved to have the commission meet 4 times a year. Jos Lesscher seconded. Motion carried.

# 8. Hazardous Materials Emergency Response Plan (HMER)

Discussion of HMSB's role in developing and updating the state HMER plan and opportunity to reinforce future AWIA policies through the HMER plan.

Dan Heerding inquired about the availability of the HMER plan to those with a need to know. HMER plan will be posted to webEOC where it can be accessed by emergency managers in the state.

Jos Lesscher moved that the HMSB be tasked with a comprehensive update to the HMER plan. Scott Overpeck seconded. The motion carried.

# 9. Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) Accountability

Discussion of LEPC compliance in New Mexico and whether updating planning districts may help to bring the state closer to full compliance.

Jos Lesscher moved to reestablish the LEPC standing committee with Zach Wachter as the chair. Scott Overpeck seconded the motion. The motion carried.

#### **10.** Public comments

Discussion of open meeting act rules.

Question raised about reporting requirements for the oil and gas industry.

# 11. Other Business

Jos Lesscher discussed areas where he would like assistance from the commission to carry out the business of the SERC.

Jos Lesscher moved to reestablish the Regulator/Legislative/Bylaw standing committee with Jeff Wenzel as chair and Jess Lewis, and Jack Onsurez as committee members. Scott Overpeck seconded. Motion carried.

#### 12. Adjournment

Jos Lesscher moved to adjourn. Scott Overpeck seconded. Motion carried.